Pea and Ham Soup

As I’m still doing weight watchers I’m making a lot more food from scratch as its really shocking how much sugar and salt is added to store bought foods. This seams to be especially true of soup’s. This is one of my favourite recipes, it’s really quick and also works out very cheap too.

Ingredients:

1 onion

Half a bag of frozen peas

1 medium potato

1 thick slick of premium ham

1 clove of garlic

1 jug of chicken stock

Method:

Chop and lightly fry the onion, potato and garlic until the onion goes soft. Then add the chicken stock and peas. Chop half of you ham and add that in.Bring to the boil for about 15 mins. Add salt and pepper. Blend with a hand blender. Dice the rest of your ham and use as a garnish when you serve the soup.

I estimate that this dish cost me max £1.50 to make and it easily makes four portions ! 

The whole thing took me less then half an hour to make and I just love knowing the whole thing is completely healthy and fresh with no hidden nasty bits! 

I’m officially a home made soup convert! 

Leave a Reply

