A day in our life: With an 11 month old

There haven’t been too many changes to our daily routine since my last “Day in our life” piece (HERE) when Jake was 8 months, though there a a couple subtle yet important differences.

6.15am – Wake up to here Jake chattering away in his cot, for some reason he now wakes up a bit earlier then he used to, but I’m not sure why. After a quick cuddle in bed Jamie goes an gets Jakes bottle on while I change and dress him, he then has his bottle in bed with us.

7.30am – here is one of the important differences! I’ve started going to the gym and manage a couple of mornings a week. Where as pre baby I would have struggled to get out of bed before 9am, Jake has forced me to become a morning person, so much so that by 7.30am I feel as though half the day is almost gone! So while I’m at the gym Jamie and Jake have breakfast and play downstairs.

8.30am I’m back from the gym and play with Jake (I’m still a sweaty mess at this point!) while Jamie gets ready for work

9am Jake goes down for a nap in his cot while I have a shower and get dressed, and try to do some housework before Jake wakes up again

10am – Jake wakes up and we usually go out either for a walk, to the shops or to a baby group

12pm – We all have lunch together

1pm – Jamie goes back to work. Jake and I have the afternoon to our selves. We might go out somewhere again, if not we’ll just play in the living room. Jake plays a lot more on his own these days, which is really lovely to watch, but can sometimes make the afternoon a bit slow for me.

5pm Jamie finishes work and plays with Jake while I make dinner.

5.30 – We eat dinner then do the washing up

6pm – We have a quick play before it is time for Jakes bath and PJ’s.

6.30pm – I sit down with Jake for some quiet time and give him his bottle. Sometimes he will fall asleep straight after his bottle in which case I put him straight in bed.

7.30 pm If Jake isn’t already asleep he now goes to bed anyway with Jamie and I going up every few minutes to lie him down and tell him it is bed time, this usually wont go on past 8pm. At this point one of us may or may not go to the gym.

8pm – The rest of our evening if to ourselves

Its hard to believe how normal our lives have become again since having Jake 11 months ago, when life with a new-born seamed so hard! I can see why it is at this stage that couples start to feel ready to start thinking about baby number 2 as life has become normal again.

Leave a Reply

