Questions from a new blogger

I am still very new to the blogging word and am just sort of finding my way along as I go. There are a few things that I’m unsure of etc, so I though what better way to get a little friendly help and advice then to write a post that reaches out to other bloggers and asks all of my blogging related questions in the hope the some kind people will leave me a comment and help me out!

1) Is it safe for me to use our name on my blog – some people use names and others don’t just wondering what peoples reasons were behind their decisions?

2) Should I watermark my photos? (I feel like the answer to this is ‘yes’) if so how do I do this as easily as possible?

3) If I use pictures I find on the internet do I need to provide a link back to where I found it or credit it somehow?

4) Do you ask friends / family for their permission before you mention them in the blog?

5) If you review a product or place just on your own accord do you let the brand owners know about it?

6) I have a Kred score on my blog, but I still don’t’ know what I’m supposed to do with it and what constitutes a good score?

7) My blog uses a free wordpress template on wordpress. com is their anything I can do to improve / personalise its appearance?

8) As a new blogger how do I start working with companies to provide reviews / sponsored posts ect?

I’m sure I’ll think of loads more questions as time goes on, but in the meantime if you are a seasoned blogger please feel free to leave me a comment to answer any of my questions. Or provide a link if you have blogged about anything that could help me out!

Many thanks in advance!

Once I’ve got some answers to my questions I will compile them and write a post about what I have found, so that I can help any other new bloggers!

14 thoughts on “Questions from a new blogger

  1. 1) define safe? Most people are anonymous due to work situations, or sometimes to do with children’s privacy.
    2) Yes. Use whatever you’re using to edit your photos.
    3) You can’t just use pictures from the internet unless they are listed as giving permission for other people to use.
    4) I don’t, but I don’t tend to give identifying details. Although most of my friends blog too.
    5) Occasionally, but not usually.
    6) You don’t need to do anything with a Kred score. Tots100 use it as part of their metric though I believe. It recognises social media activity.
    7) I believe you can pay to customise wordpress.com templates, but at that point, I’d go self hosted and then you can customise everything.
    8) I don’t really know. Sign up with all the blogging networks. Look out for brands you’d like to work with and see what kind of people they are working with. Build up your readership and network. Good luck!

  2. 1) Is it safe for me to use our name on my blog – some people use names and others don’t just wondering what peoples reasons were behind their decisions?

    Entirely personal decision – depends on how you feel about people being able to Google your children, Google you, etc. I use my children’s names but as a web professional and long term blogger, my life is splashed all over the Internet anyway. It would be very hard to take that back now.

    2) Should I watermark my photos? (I feel like the answer to this is ‘yes’) if so how do I do this as easily as possible?

    Again, up to you. I don’t because I don’t take photos of anything that would upset me if it were stolen (plus, even if you do watermark your pics, you then have to a) spot the watermarked photo being used, b) take the necessary action against the person, c) take it further if nothing comes of ‘b’)

    3) If I use pictures I find on the internet do I need to provide a link back to where I found it or credit it somehow?

    You can’t just “use pictures you find on the Internet” – you need to first check that people are OK for you to use them, what the license is, etc and THEN think about using them and credit links etc. I credit everything to its source, better than not doing so and someone getting arsey with you.

    4) Do you ask friends / family for their permission before you mention them in the blog?

    Nope.

    5) If you review a product or place just on your own accord do you let the brand owners know about it?

    Nope. (But the majority find them anyway.)

    6) I have a Kred score on my blog, but I still don’t’ know what I’m supposed to do with it and what constitutes a good score?

    Been blogging for a very long time and still not sure what the point of Kred, etc is.

    7) My blog uses a free wordpress template on wordpress. com is their anything I can do to improve / personalise its appearance?

    Not really without paying extra. What you write is more important than how you write it.

    8) As a new blogger how do I start working with companies to provide reviews / sponsored posts ect?

    Write and they shall come…

    • Thanks for leaving such a detailed and helpful comment! There’s a few things I think I need to give a little bit more thought too, such as the watermarking the photos etc, you raise some good points! X

  3. 1) Is it safe for me to use our name on my blog – some people use names and others don’t just wondering what peoples reasons were behind their decisions? – Personal choice. Many people use their own name but a pseudonym for their children.

    2) Should I watermark my photos? (I feel like the answer to this is ‘yes’) if so how do I do this as easily as possible? Depends if you mind them being used elsewhere or not.

    3) If I use pictures I find on the internet do I need to provide a link back to where I found it or credit it somehow? What Jem said.

    4) Do you ask friends / family for their permission before you mention them in the blog? it is certainly polite but it doesn’t mean you have to do it! I often just use initials for people if I am not sure they want to be identified.

    5) If you review a product or place just on your own accord do you let the brand owners know about it? You don’t have to but if it is a positive review they might want to add comments which is always a good thing.

    6) I have a Kred score on my blog, but I still don’t’ know what I’m supposed to do with it and what constitutes a good score? Me either! Sorry. There’s Klout too ?!

    7) My blog uses a free wordpress template on wordpress. com is their anything I can do to improve / personalise its appearance? Sorry I am a blogger user but if you have good content you will get readers. You also need to interact with other bloggers – read their blogs, comment, share on social media etc.

    8) As a new blogger how do I start working with companies to provide reviews / sponsored posts ect? Ask them – I would be happy to write a post about Eco-Gites of Lenault (our family friendly holiday cottage in France) on your blog.

    Linking up with the various blog linkies is a great way to find more blogs and get comments on your own posts. Also always reply to comments and if possible visit the blog of the person who commented and return the favour.

    Good luck and hope this helps. Rosie

  4. Hiyah … a few quickies for you that hopefully help. Your Kred and Klout scores are important for your Tots100 ranking along with your page views and page rank … I have heard from some brands directly that they only work with brands in the top X number of blogs in the index so it is worth looking after your scores. Kred is basically how after you are on Twitter it measures your influence in terms of mentions and retweets but also your outreach in terms of how much you mention other people. Hope that helps.

  5. 1) Is it safe for me to use our name on my blog – some people use names and others don’t just wondering what peoples reasons were behind their decisions?
    I use my name. I didn’t on my ‘old’ blog and it was a bit anonymous. I decided I wanted to make a blog a bit more ‘out there’ and give it an identity – I am the identity really because the blog is about me and my life so I’m now self hosted, use my name and am very loud and proud. I don’t tend to use the children’s names though.

    2) Should I watermark my photos? (I feel like the answer to this is ‘yes’) if so how do I do this as easily as possible?
    I don’t although I have installed a plugin that can watermark them for me – on self hosted WP. You can create a logo on PicMonkey for example, save it as a png file and then add that on to any photos again using PicMonkey.

    3) If I use pictures I find on the internet do I need to provide a link back to where I found it or credit it somehow?
    You can’t use photos from the internet unless given permission by the owner.

    4) Do you ask friends / family for their permission before you mention them in the blog?
    No. I don’t really put people’s names in the blog though.

    5) If you review a product or place just on your own accord do you let the brand owners know about it?
    Yep, I tweet links and mention them as they’re likely to RT it or share it on their other social media accounts – all publicity is good publicity. If they like the review they may then contact you to review for them in the future.

    6) I have a Kred score on my blog, but I still don’t’ know what I’m supposed to do with it and what constitutes a good score?
    I have one, I have no idea what it means, I haven’t ‘Done’ anything with it. Same with Klout. I have one, no idea what it is.

    7) My blog uses a free wordpress template on wordpress. com is their anything I can do to improve / personalise its appearance?
    Not really. Self hosted WP is a lot easier to personalise.

    8) As a new blogger how do I start working with companies to provide reviews / sponsored posts ect?
    Look out for tweets from brands looking for reviewers. Other than that just keep blogging and writing and you will get contacted by people.

    Hope that helps!

  6. Well you’ve got a host of great replies (and of course you could also post questions on the BritMums forum, super useful), so I thought I’d just share with you re q4 – I think that it entirely depends on what you are writing about. Many people guard their privacy quite strongly, and while having a blog and writing publicly about various aspects of your life is your choice, some people may take offence. I only say this as I lost a really good friend when I wrote about something we both went through, although I didn’t mention her by name or even an initial, she knew. It wasn’t disparaging, however it taught me that you really can’t tell how someone will take things. What to you might seem innocuous and totally harmless might be someone else’s version of invasion of privacy or even betrayal of trust (I wasn’t giving away a secret btw, but it really doesn’t matter as to my friend it was the principle of talking about anything at all about her life without discussing with her first). If you know someone may read your blog even occasionally and are thinking of writing something to do with them then I’d check. For those of us who blog as part of our lives it may not seem a big deal, but trust me, to others it is. Good luck and look forward to your follow up post!

    • Zaz, just read your comment and found it so interesting. I have a few friends that hate havign their picture taken etc, and actually find that I know avoid inviting them places that I think I’ll want to write about! I also have thought about blogging about private situations that involved other and then decided against it at the last minute because I too, wasn’t sure how they’d take it. It is important to remember that as “bloggers” we publicly share more than 99% of the rest of the non-blogging population who may have no desire/need to get their thoughts or life out there. Thanks for this comment it really got me thinking.

  7. I found your blog because you commented on mine, I link up every week with #AllAboutyou so I’m guessing you found me there. Thank you so much for commenting I’m really glad to have found your blog. Aside from the fact that you have a red head just like me, I am also a new blogger (blogging since September / October of 2013) and have all the same questions. I found your questions and the answers given really helpful. Your thoughts are exactly my own but I was too self-conscious to put them out there.
    Nice to meet you! I’ll be following on facebook and can’t wait to stay in touch!

    Angie from reasons to dress, life as a North American mom in Italy.

Leave a Reply

