Using your baby to create artwork

One of my “monthly goals” is to get some more artwork / pictures put up around the house, after two months of living here things are still very bare! As well as having a need for artwork around our house I’ve also been very aware recently that I haven’t managed to take Jake to messy play for ages. So….

..I need artwork and my baby enjoys messy play – results in, lets get Jake to do some painting that I can use as artwork! Sound like an obvious solution to me 🙂

The plan was very simple, I bought three child friendly poster paints from Wilkos for 85p /each.

IMG_1446

I then taped a design using masking tape onto a piece of A4 white paper, I chose to do two designs, a letter “J” and a flower pattern. I then taped the paper to the floor and put some messy play sheets around them to try to protect the floor as much as possible.

IMG_1441IMG_1442IMG_1443

Then, I stripped Jake off to his nappy, put three splodges of paint next to our “canvas” and let him go to town!

IMG_1449

Jake really enjoyed walking through the paint and leaving footprints over the paper, he then took some time to closer inspect the paint, squishing it in his fingers and with some help from me smearing it over the paper.

IMG_1454IMG_1463

Jake was then whisked off to the bath. The paint washed off with no effort at all (it also wiped straight off the wooden floor too). I left the paintings to dry for a couple of hours and then peeled off the masking tape to reveal our designs! I have to say I’m really pleased with how they turned out!

IMG_1464

I’ve put the letter “J” in a frame and am going to hang it n Jake’s bedroom wall : ) I really like the idea that is something unique that he had a part in creating, and he really enjoyed the process too!

IMG_1477

I’ve chosen to use this post as my entry to the Center Parcs and Tots 100 March challenge. If I’m chosen, I would like to visit Sherwood Forrest. The best tip from Emma the creative crafter was to experiment with things like potato printing, we didn’t do this ourselves as we used Jake’s hands and feet instead. But we’ll certainly try it in the future!

Mother.Wife.Me

21 thoughts on “Using your baby to create artwork

  1. Such a great idea, I’ve done something similar with my son although he’s older. Having shapes for them to paint over is a nice way to create something longer lasting rather than just adding to the recycling (not that I do that, obviously….) 🙂

  2. This is fantastic! Such a simple idea but at the same time very clever! The end result is fab and so lovely to keep. May have to copy this one 🙂 Thanks so much for linking with #creativechallenge

Leave a Reply

