A new identity

Seven months ago I would have described myself as a young professional.IMG_0173

I had a successful career as a procurement manager and had even picked up a national award as “young professional of the year”. I found this an easy identity to live up to and found that I fitted the stereotype very well. I went to the gym. Enjoyed a somewhat disposable income allowing us to have lovely holidays as well as days out and trips to the cinema. I was ambitious and driven and worked hard – but inside I harboured a secret.

I wanted to be a housewife and stay at home mum.

This was at conflict with everything I felt my success in my career demanded and expected of me. Therefore I kept it quiet. I didn’t tell anyone how I felt. I felt almost fraudulent that I had been so successful in such a short time in a career that I never intended to keep, that giving it all up would seem ungrateful and people would think that I had wasted both my time an effort as well as that of others who had helped and supported me along the way.

The only person who truly knew how I felt was my husband. He has always supported me in my career and he has just as easily supported me in deciding to give it all up, for which I will be forever grateful and feel so immensely lucky.

I am now a house wife and stay at home mum to a seven month old. Instead of the gym I do the “big shop” I stay in and do the housework, and cook dinner. I play and get messy and go for walks. I change nappies and get covered in sick every single day.

My lifestyle is completely different. But I am the same.

I am intelligent and articulate. I am passionate and driven. I just channel these attributes in a different way. I love my family and I love my life.

I am not defined by my job or my title. I am simply me.

Mother.Wife.Me

15 thoughts on “A new identity

  1. I ADORE this post , Lisa, you’re a role model, man 🙂 this is the first time I’ve ever read about someone who wants to be a SAHM and isn’t moaning about it. I moan about it myself (I like cooking but can’t stand all the other stuff)! But there are people out there who need to hear this. They need to know that if you want to be a SAHM you can be, it’s perfectly acceptable as long as you are happy.

    It’s almost become something to be ashamed of and comes with a caveat – “I’m a housewife but I also do …” – even what you said at the end is a little similar “I am intelligent and articulate. I am passionate and driven.” Of course you are! Just because you are at home, doesn’t make you a dope! I wish you lived nearer me, then we could be intelligent and articulate together 😉 Oh and I don’t think you should ever feel bad about your previous career path, it was just preparing you for this much more challenging role 😉
    lots of love hxxx
    #AllAboutMe

  2. I’m a SAHM too and absolutely love it!!! I worked in central London for 6 years and travelled around Europe and was extremely passionate about my career, then fell pregnant with twins and now I have a five month old too!! I just reached a point where I wanted to be a housewife too and feel very lucky to be able to spend quality time with my little ones!! x

  3. Rah!!!! LOVE THIS POST!! In our crazy western world it’s so easy to be defined by what we do to earn a living, I’ve found this so hard to deal with since becoming first a SAHM and then a WAHM. So much of it is about how little stay at home mums are valued in our society – in fact mums in general, whichever way we choose to do it. Your post is so succinct and just says it how it should be. Thanks so much for linking up to #AllAboutYou

    • Thank you for your support! Its so lovely to here from other people who are stay at home mums, it helps remind me that I am not the only crazy lady who enjoys this vocation!

  4. Im currently sole earner whilst my wife is the SAHM but the plan is that once number 3 arrives I look to drop my hours and have 1 or 2 days a week with the kids. I too have been sucessful at work but for me the ultimate goal is to be a hands on parent first and put my career 2nd 🙂

  5. Fantastic post – and I especially love the last 4 lines! We are too easily in our world today defined by others and their expectations of us, so hurray for you for being true to yourself ultimately, and you are of course just as brilliant as a SAHM as as a WM or young professional. Thank you so much for this post, and for linking it up to #AllAboutYou, it captures just how I’m feeling right now during a temporary change from WM to SAHM. Hope that you can come back to #AllAboutYou on Tuesday!

    Mama-andmore.com

  6. Pingback: #AllABoutYou Link & Pin Party -Week 5 - City Girl At Heart - A working mum's lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

