My three best new baby buys

When you’re about to become a new mum for the first time know what to buy can be very daunting. Everyone you speak to will have their own views on their must have items, but ultimately every baby and every mother is different. On reflecting on the things that we bought there are some that I am so glad we purchased and others that I feel were a bit of a waste of money.

This is a list of my personal best buys:

1. A breast feeding pillow: IMG_0426

This is basically a “C” shapped pillow that fits perfectly around your waist and supports your baby when you are breast feeding or just holding them. I used my pillow for the entire seven months that I breast fed Jake for so the pillow was well worth the money (About £30 I think)

2. A cold water steriliser:

We bought this on the recommendation of my sister in law and I am so glad we did, it is basically a bucket with  lid. You fill it with cold water and drop in a sterilising tablet (these cost about £1.20 for a months supply) 15 minutes later the water is sterile and you can drop into the water anything you want to be sterilised, bottles, dummied, breast pump, plastic toys. They only have to be in the water for 15 minutes and then they are ready to use. Its quick, easy and cheap to run so couldn’t be more perfect in my book.

3. A crib instead of a moses basket:IMG_0429

This was a personal decision as I always felt that a moses basket wouldn’t be used for long enough to justify its cost. As well as this we knew we wanted Jake to be in our room with us for the first six months and a full size cot wouldn’t fit. So we opted for a mother care swinging crib and I’m very glad we did. Jake was born at a healthy 8lbs 15oz, our health visitor told us if we had gone for a moses basket he probably would have outgrown it in about 8 weeks, instead he’s still sleeping in his crib at seven months.

 

I do also have a few items that I wish I hadn’t wasted my money on, but that’s a post for another day.

Leave a Reply

